Sherwood Park Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.29 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 11:25:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's a work of art with a camera. The mood, the set, the actors. Probably as good as it gets... period

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 11:21:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This water's got Montezuma's Revenge written all over it, 'cause it's pure cinematic diarrhea.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 7:34:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! A beautiful movie...

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 4:06:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brilliant break from the predictable action/tear-jerker/holly-wood-formula. Del Toro is awesome. Saw it twice. I love movies, and have seen almost all of them. I get that it won't appeal to everyone. It's too original. It's a love story, a spy story, science fiction, monster movie, but not a horror movie. West Side Story meets The Creature From The Black Lagoon

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 2:14:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A 'grown-ups' movie that is beautiful to watch, and to listen to. I saw this in the Cap 6 Big Chair theatre, and was very pleased with the movie. Definitely a couples date night movie. 90% of the audience were of this type. People who brought kids.... ??? Please do not bring children to this, it has sexual scenes and nudity, and it's a love story. The set design is amazing, if you are into "Fallout" style atom-punk. The performances are top notch by all. The creature from the Peruvian salt water marsh could have been better.... he is not quite threatening enough, and his lips are too big... Too close to 'Sapien' from Hellboy, not enough of the original Creature from The Black Lagoon in him... but otherwise fine. The secret government lab is done to perfection. The Cadillac showroom... is a joy to stare at...

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 1:34:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Itís beautiful visually and stands alone for the quality of its story & character development. Best of 2017!

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, January 15, 2018 9:22:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This water is stale.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 5:25:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie! People who give it a bad rating are obviously not remembering that is it a Fantasy film. There was one part I could have lived without but it does play into her world and it's okay. If you like Fantasy and SciFi movies that's that this is. I loved it!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, January 12, 2018 5:41:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    How could anyone not like this movie? There will always be those who give bad ratings to great movies. Don't be fooled. There are moments I might have edited out. (You will know these spots when you see them!) But when all is said and done... Great work from the great Fantasy Writer/Director Guillermo Del Toro! See it on the Big Screen while you can.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, January 12, 2018 6:49:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Has Del Toro ever made a good movie? The man is twisted and it shows on the screen. Whatever happened to feelgood movies about normal people? Can't have that. It must include alien love, or a psychotic relationship, or some perversion of nature. I go to movies to enjoy an evening, not try and figure out what the point the director was trying to make.