Sherwood Park Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:16:11 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It’s not coincidence that Lucas made Luke literally rescue his father from the Dark Side. Proposing that there’s no absolute good and evil, that both Jedi and Sith were equally wrong because of their dogmatism and that both of those factions used the Force and viewed themselves as good (as a mean to reinforce their power) is treason against the core morality that was deeply embedded in Lucas’ original philosophy, one that he tried to build in the tradition of ancient mythology: he carefully showed how this relativistic “grey view” of good and evil is just a trick used by the dark side. Remember Palpatine’s and Anakin’s conversation at the opera. It was meant to mirror the Temptation of Christ in the desert, the serpent at the Tree of Good and Evil or the conversation between Buddha and Mara. Evil tries to twist the morality of the hero, painting both moral opposites as the same, as relative. A pure Jungian archetype. That’s why Lucas sold his soul. He literally did. He sold a creation that conveyed these ideas beautifully to a company that wants to deconstruct them and negate their validity and use them to further advance the destructive globalist agenda which is aimed at breaking down everything into chaos gray zones, lack of meaning, addiction etc where everything is the opposite to what it was before. I’m sure he’s sad with what Disney is doing with his carefully crafted mythology but this is the perfect depiction of why more and more are reporting being unhappy, depressed, unwanted, not loved…… Not having understood the meaning or ways of navigating in life because it all has been based on big lie. The truth has always been there right there right infront of them. "That evil & good is subjective, lightness darkness is not equal, we need to choose the tree of life" By supporting this movie u are consenting to create "Order out of Chaos from wickedness & suffering"

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:15:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My wife and I walked out of the theater extremely disappointed. The movie just lacked substance and story. It gave the audience more questions and answered largely anticipated questions horribly...It was also full of plot holes and just ruined long time loved characters from the original trilogy. Episode VII did a good job setting this movie up for success, but this movie just was a dump on the series. When Disney bought Star Wars, I feared they would kill it...and this movie is my fears come true.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:15:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The only positive thing I can say of this movie is that there are some scenes that are visually spectacular. On the whole, however, the characters are unlikable caricatures with sloppy dialog. The story itself is a convoluted, meandering mess with nearly a third of the screen-time being utterly pointless. All the lose ends of the previous movie are either ignored or bluntly stated to be pointless. "Mary Sue" Rei Mary Sue's her way through everything as she did in episode 7, leaving no tension or attachment to her boring, vacant character. Add a dash of clumsy political ideological allegory and you end up with two and half hours of my life I wish that I could have back. I will not bother with episode 9.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:14:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie is not original either. The entire Rey story is stolen from ESB. She travels alone to a distant plant to meet a strange reclusive Jedi Master for training, while there she discovers an ominous cave that will hint the truth about who she is before disobeying the Jedi Master and confronting an enemy that reveals who her parents are (Dagobah = Ach-To). That is the main plot of ESB beat for beat. Meanwhile the rebels bunkered-in fight AT-AT's on a salt/snow planet that they must retreat for their lives (Crait=Hoth). While visiting a corrupt wealthy planet the good guys meet a shady character they ask for help but he betrays them (Canto Bight=Cloud City). Do not tell me Last Jedi is any more original than Force Awakens.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:14:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie lacks any continuity from the Force Awakens even though they take place moments apart. Why was a map left to find Luke, why is the Resistance completely wiped out, why didn't Hux return to Snoke, how is Finn and his jacket okay when he just had his spine sliced by Kylo Ren? Plot ideas and interesting characters that Force Awakens created are abandoned with total disinterest (Snoke, Knights of Ren, Phasma). The 3 new hero characters are robbed of major hero moments and are isolated the whole movie. The movie wastes our time with 2 secondary plots that accomplish nothing other than a very cool explosion and a long prequel-esque escapade to a Casino planet. A good story teller would've at least had Leia pilot that ship into Snoke like a mofo and time it so the explosion stuns Snoke, saves Rey, giving Kylo the opportunity to kill Snoke. The way they wrote this movie both the good and bad guys looked weak and stupid when both should be impressive. Finn and Rey's competence in combat against much more experienced fighters remains an ongoing mystery that might just be a result of awful storytelling.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:10:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible film. Even from a basic plot and character point of view it sucked. We got to see the destruction of Luke's Character which was a real low point in my opinion. I think people who like this film simply like pretty lights and visuals and the fact it checks every PC box imaginable. Just a bad film. How did people get paid to make this film? It's like welfare for hollywood types. Show up, create a turkey, collect a paycheck. If you like the original trilogy, avoid.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:05:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If it were totally standalone, it would be an average kind-of-enjoyable thing with many plotholes. But like this...it destroys the mythology, and offers nothing except meh-meh to replace what it destroyed. I WANTED to be surprised, but not in such a way that the surprises all ring hollow and/or unconvincing. Let's see why... Luke contemplating killing Kylo...nope. This happens to be a personal obsession of Rian's - "if you met Hitler while still a kid, would you kill him?" Check out his movie Looper for proof of this. And it could have been convincingly placed in this mythology...only it isn't. Something like that has to be earned, not shoehorned in. And yeah, it does character-assassinate Luke, this is simply not him, not even if he changed. An example (only one of the possible ways this could have been made convincing, and no it wasn't my idea to start with, got it from someone on the Net): if Ben/Kylo and all or most of Luke's students got converted by Snoke and rebelled, Luke may have been forced to kill them while crying, then could not bring himself to kill his own nephew.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:01:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really tried to enjoy the movie, i forced myself to like it, but everyday I get angrier at the realization that rian Johnson just made the worst star wars movie. Please Disney, please lucasfilm, stop killing star wars, stop killing something i loved so much

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:59:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Is it possible that a Star Wars movie can be worse than Michael Bay's Pearl Harbor? Well, no. Why? Because the events at Pearl Harbor Dec. 7, 1941 actually happened. Michael Bay completely disrespected anyone associated with that real life historical event. But The Last Jedi, if Star Wars was a real event, comes close.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:59:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie just is poor in general and a freaking disaster as a Star Wars film. First of all 2/3 of this movie is a total mess of insane stupidity and SJW agenda. People of color are all heroes and led by number of empowered woman, First Order are stupid idiotic men who are LITERALLY HITLERS from the 60s cartoons. Do you really think that your viewers are THAT stupid and should be fed with that kind of Top Dog Luke is a old bitter idiot who does not know better cause his student knows its all from the start. Kylo is more bland then in Force Awakens. Whole casino planet is a stupid nonsensical 30 minutes joke that was written to give Fin some artificial and useless story to tell. From the 2.5h of this movie may be 30 minutes were worth it, the rest of it is just a freaking filler crap that should not even be in this movie.