Edmonton Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.72 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:26:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A movie that only has Merit based on nostalgia it tries to kill. If it wants us to kill our pasts and review this without respect to what made the prginals great I will. This movie has giant plot holes and kills any intrest I have in seeing the others. It feels like the director was setting up JJ Abrams to fail in the next one leaving him a giant mess after destroying all the plot hooks he was left.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:18:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the first time I give a ZERO to a movie. I left the theater feeling angry, disappointed and ultimately, sad. A friend told me I have to go and see the film a second time to fully understand it. I think I'm not that stupid yet (though that's what people imply when they say "you did not understand it") and after he said that I thought "wait a minute, this is not how a Star Wars movie should leave its audience feeling". Then I realized how bad the plot and supposed "brilliant ideas" this so-called genius "Rian Johnson" had, were. It may be a great movie. A great independent film. A great show for the new generation but it is a bad Star Wars movie. Period. And I won't even get to the part that upset me most (my childhood hero) because I'd be spoiling it for you and I don't mean to do that. Though, if you're a fan. Stick to the 6-chapter saga and forget about Disney. If you're not, why would you even want to spend your money in Disney?

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:12:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I did not think Rian Johnson could screw up this badly. It is a mystery to me how he can consider himself a Star Wars fan. Perhaps what he really means is that he was a fan of Star Wars action figures, because that's what this movie feels like--a child playing with the figures, smashing them together, throwing them across the room. Having a ball of a time with them and yet, not understanding any of the characters they represent. I absolutely hated this movie, and consider it the end of Star Wars, especially for all the old fans.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:10:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Iím giving this a 1 because me and 3 other people in my group decided to leave the theater after the first part of the movie otherwise I would have given it 0if that were possible.. I have to say that Iím a fan of the original trilogy but except another friend in my group the other two didnít care about Star Wars very much so they were in just to enjoy a movie together (We are all about 30 years old). I didnít have great expectations, Iím not a fan of episode VII, I find it inconsistent and not original but overall I think itís an ok movie, so I tried to have an open mind for this one. I did know about the mixed reviews but nothing could have prepared me for what Iíve witnessed. Iím not going to debate the lore or the direction the story is progressing in these new films, I personally donít like it because for me Star Wars was something else and I think Disney could have told a new original story for the new generations without the need to destroy the heroes of the old movies and their accomplishments, but , I repeat, this is only my personal opinion. ĎThe Last Jedií was very good visually but story wise it was ridiculous, rushed, full of plot holes and inconsistecies and Iím not saying that in refer to the original trilogy, but to episode VII and even with itself. The characters choices and many scenes are totally random and donít make any sense. As if this couldnít be enough the movie is full of cheap forced ďfunnyĒ moments and evident political topics that donít belong in a Star Wars movie at all. We had I think 6 or 7 kids sitting in the row in front of us but I never heard anyone laughing once. Iím completely puzzled about the great reviews this movie is getting. Are good visuals, special effects and cute birds really enough to make a bad movie a great movie?

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:06:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    After seeing The Force Awakens I was extremely excited to see this movie. The Force Awakens was refreshing, magical, and mysterious. Yes there were monitor issues, but it was very entertaining and I hardly noticed them. So, after two years The Last Jedi was released and I was ready to go. Little did I know that I would be walking out of the theater in such disappointment. I couldn't believe it! This film did not deliver the same experience The Force Awakens provided. It felt like it was a tree whose core was rotten. It lacked something. A lot of something. It looked and sounded like Star Wars but it didn't feel like Star Wars. It felt poorly written with no clear direction. Many of my favorite characters had been completely mischaracterized. I could care less for any of the characters. There were so many moments where I found myself being ripped away from the movie and I realized I was sitting in a movie theater. Having to listen to a political lecture really took me out of the experience. I want to forget about life hear on earth and go on a magical journey and see people do impossible and amazing things. This movie was very disappointing and unsatisfying. There were many questions from The Force Awakens that weren't even addressed. The answers we did get were very underwhelming. I have very little hope for the next installment. We'll see.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 11:08:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was a sloppy, garbled and confusing mess. The decisions Rian Johnson made with Luke's character were heart-shattering. I think I speak for most fans of the original trilogy: what they did with Luke in this movie was a betrayal of the character that we know Luke is. Mark Hamill said himself he was "insulted" when he read the script. I can only imagine how offended George Lucas is. I can't bring myself to see this movie a second time because it hurts just thinking about Luke. Disney is dead to me. What an absolute shame. What an absolute failure. Done

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 11:06:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hilariously bad movie. There are zero rules to anything happening in the movie, the new order always fails to accomplish anything and the resistance seems succeed out of sheer luck. Also the Plot between Rey and Luke is uninteresting while poorly trying to imitate the excitment of Lukes first Introduction to the force. I could go on ranting about nearly every aspect of this bad movie in detail, but I want to spare myself from reliving to much of this awful experience. I guess after a mediocore Episode VII I will have to accept that Disney isnt capable of capturing the essence of what made Star Wars fun. Generally it doesn't at all feel like a Star Wars movie, and you shouldn't waste your money on going to the cinema seeing this movie.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:51:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I don't know where to start. I guess the first 10 minutes were good. The rest was just a soulless rehash and pointless hipster virtue signalling. They literally played out the same story arc three times in the same movie. By the end of it the film has succeeded in draining any last lingering sense of interest you may have had in the plot. And the plot itself... gah... it's so bad. It's not even funny bad, its just terrible.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:47:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The film is terrible. The plot and text is garbage and the characters' motivations makes absolutely NO SENSE. The charater development is clearly lacking.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:43:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The last Jedi is a bad movie: it is horribly written, full of plotholes, and the lack of character developpement is astonishing. It is also a treason of the Star Wars Universe. The film direction is well done, but it can't hide all these patent flaws. So I will also rate it with a zero, as a sanction. Don't go see it !