Edmonton Movies

The Death of Stalin

The Death of Stalin

The Death of Stalin

Score: 5.73 / 10

Release Date: March 16, 2018
Director: Armando Iannucci
Producer: Kevin Loader, Laurent Zeitoun, Nicolas Duval Adassovsky, Yann Zenou
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Steve Buscemi, Simon Russell Beale, Paddy Considine, Rupert Friend, Jason Isaacs, Olga Kurylenko, Michael Palin, Andrea Riseborough, Paul Chahidi, Dermot Crowley, Adrian McLoughlin, Paul Whitehouse, Jeffrey Tambor
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 106 minutes

Write a Review


The Death of Stalin movie reviews

  • 9

    The Death of Stalin

    Monday, May 28, 2018 5:07:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! As satire of course. Must have a good working knowledge of this time in history and the players as well as an evolved and unimpaired sense of humor, otherwise you will be eclipsed by this film.

  • 10

    The Death of Stalin

    Sunday, April 22, 2018 8:12:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    For someone old enough to remember the death of the second most prolific mass murderer in history behind Mao Tse Tung and who later took Russian political history as part of his political science degree and who served five years in the stultifying bureaucracy of Trudeau 1.0 in the early 70s, this movie was tailor made for me. In any case, I gave it five stars and consider it the funniest film I've seen in several years. It showed the mindless hilarity of bureaucracy and the fear and cover your assets hilarity of a dictatorship. The acting was superb with Tambour and Buscemi the best of a strong cast. If you have worked in and escaped from the hell of mindless bureaucracy then this is the funniest and the best film you'll see this year. If you voted for Trudeau and still support him, not so much.

  • 9

    The Death of Stalin

    Monday, April 16, 2018 9:13:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Truly an absolutely love it or absolutely hate it type movie. I personally loved it! It was different and very funny. It brought out just how ridiculous politics can be when everyone is terrified for their life. It kind of reminded me of the cabinet under Trump. As you well see most people gave this 5 stars or 1, this tells you something.

  • 7

    The Death of Stalin

    Monday, April 16, 2018 9:06:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed this movie far more than I ever anticipated. It was delightfully funny. The humour was dry and satirical but had in me in stitches on a number of occasions. The acting was terrific! The fact that everyone was so terrified that they couldn't even think straight caused absolute chaos. Not for everyone but I believe if you are a fan of Monty Python and keep in mind that this movie is based on historical events you find it truly entertaining.

  • 2

    The Death of Stalin

    Saturday, April 14, 2018 5:20:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Would not even give it a 1 star--but you have to put at least 1 down. Horrible movie. Did not watch the whole thing! Awful. Save your money. It's not even good enough for home entertainment.

  • 2

    The Death of Stalin

    Friday, April 13, 2018 8:41:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It’s impossible to consider Stalin and comedy in the same thought. Pathetic movie, couldn’t stay.

  • 1

    The Death of Stalin

    Wednesday, April 11, 2018 2:07:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Who thought this was a good idea?

  • 1

    The Death of Stalin

    Monday, April 9, 2018 3:03:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible movie and bad casting.

  • 9

    The Death of Stalin

    Monday, April 9, 2018 7:56:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie is a political satire that is perfectly cast. The actors weren't all hot studs but seasoned character actors. If you like the cable series "Veep", you'll better understand this movie.

  • 1

    The Death of Stalin

    Saturday, April 7, 2018 6:35:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I’ll be the first to give it one star I guess. The type casting was poor as was the storyline. I only found a couple of scenes amusing and I went because the movie had good reviews. So, “to each his/her own” applies here.