Edmonton Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:43:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Gutted, this film was awful - no wonder Disney forced US cinemas to show it on their largest screens for a minimum of 4 weeks. From the opening 5 mins this film was a farce, at first I thought I was watching a sequel to spaceballs with the 'your mum' jokes and a certain scene which looked like a cross between Mary Poppins and superman but then the jokes come to an abrupt stop when you see what they do to Luke, totally betraying his character.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:41:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well, let's start with most disapointing aspect: All, that was in TFA, all of this unresolved plot points were thrown away. Thanks, Disney, my expectations about you were right. 0 points for you. It's seems to me, that people forgot or even didn't know, that movies are stories at first and visuals at second. And this is second disapointing aspect of film: A ridiculous exchange from plot to visuals. 0 points for you, Disney. Repeating a scenes from original trilogy is not an issue here. It's just a symptom of one of the worst problems of this film: Lack of understanding and appreciation of source material. I don't know if director is a Star Wars fan, but I know something for sure: Fans never mix their favorites with mud! 0 points for you, Disney. And in the end... we have... 0 points! What a surprise!

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:38:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    They've killed the saga with this movie and turned it into a joke anyone who's a starwars fan of old who's been waiting for the end of this saga had just been kicked in the teeth. This movies plot was very weak as was the script direction humour and lore everything was off the mark even the language felt wrong for a starwars movie. The rebellion who won 30 years ago and should of been in power have been reduced to the resistance the what? Yeah the resistance instead of the rebellion. We were expecting a Fin and Rey movie discovering the force and becoming jedi and we were treated to the po dameron show they should of stuck to their guns and killed him off in the first of the trilogy. Still they've done the same lame thing with the bf2 single player campaign which is utter trash. The director claims to be a starwars fan but i have my doubts. Was that Yoda using force lightening to burn the tree? Isn't force lightening a dark side force? It has been in every piece of starwars so far. After bf2 and these two terrible movies I'm done with starwars the franchise for me finished at return of the Jedi. Blank Disney and Blank Rian or whatever his name is I'll be boycotting them both from now on.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:26:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the worst and most awful Star Wars movie yet. The movie is terrible. It doesn't fit into any of the other movies. Logically the movie falls apart worse than any other Star Wars movie yet. Most of the movie centers around a rebel (I won't call it resistance, that was a stupid and unnecessary name change from The Force Awakens) group of transports that are running out of gas getting chased by the Empires most powerful fleet. Don't ask me why but apparently the imperial fleet has nothing that is faster than rebellion transports and their tie fighters seem to all be broken down at once. If you ever wanted to see Luke Skywalker milk an alien. Then this movie will cover that base. If you want to see General Leia surrounded by a bunch of women to make modern feminist happy this movie has you covered. If you want virtue signaling about how awful rich people are this movie has you covered. At one point Leia busts through a door by using the force. When this happens you will expect the spice girls to run into the room and yell GIRL POWER. You will also get to see Leia fly through space like Superman. Because that is exactly what every Star Wars fan has wanted for 30 years. What you won't get is an amazing lightsaber battle featuring Luke. You will get to see a bunch of AT-AT's fire at a projection of Luke, though. Because that is what we've all been waiting for since the Return of the Jedi. Did I mention this movie is awful? If you wanted an actual Star Wars movie that embraced the spirit of the original then do not see this movie. This is a Disney movie. For some reason, they felt the need to pepper every serious scene there is in the movie with awful humor. The movie opens with one X-Wing flying right up to the imperial fleet. For some reason instead of blowing up the X-Wing, the Admiral of the imperial fleet starts arguing with Poe. I actually thought I was watching a bad commercial. I could not believe this was the start of a Star Wars mo

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:17:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disney decided to create a corporate, streamlined product with no narrative substance. Best example of this fact comes from incoherent or non-existent character development in Kylo Ren, Tri, and most explicitly Finn. Trash.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:05:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    2. Who are Rey’s parents? ‘These are not the parents we are looking for, move along.’ In a quick quip Kylo Ren invalidates all deeper interest, revealing that Rey’s parents were no-name deserters. So, no mystery to hold onto there. Unless… this is a clumsily written misdirection from a truth that would be deeper & the only logical possibility...In that this epic has no other Force lending fertile couples other than Leia & Han Solo, Rey IS Kylo Ren’s sister. For now, she is not. Her parents were nobodies. 3. We finally get to see Snoke in the flesh. He is very impressive with powers not shown before in SW-the ability to mind bridge other force users to his own ends. His origin, why he is so powerful, his aims & other abilities- never to be known. Before we could develop a better understanding or compelling fear of him, he allowed a carelessly placed lightsaber to be easily used to kill him. 4. I went in to the first showing, open to the joys of suspended disbelief, & with the Force of will to like this Star Wars movie irregardless of any incongruities & the occasional Jar Jar. The only problem was, by any measure of that far far away galaxy, this was not a Star Wars movie. It's just Mickey's Revenge on the Jedi.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:49:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This epic chase slogged us over an hour of nothingness. Suddenly we are transported to the 18th century suspense of a seagoing ship taking 3 days to driftingly overtake another. So let’s spare the further detail which will be suffered by those who still choose to see this film (code: bring a pillow & eye covers for act two). Yet we still have to get to the burning heart of the 4 mysteries we shared going into TLJ. 1. What about Luke Skywalker? 2. Who are Rey’s parents? 3. Who is Snoke? 4. Will The Last Jedi use TFA as a springboard to broaden the SW universe?....1. Luke Skywalker, the heart of the SW universe & all that we know him to be, is suddenly debased & expendable. The new Luke no longer believes in the Force. He is easily bested by a novice. To make matters worse, he betrays family-his nephew, Ben Solo, causing the storm to follow. This means that all his personal arc & the prophecy fulfillment (SW I-VI) of Luke bringing balance to the force, which he did with his father, is negated. Luke's most powerful trait, his belief in Good is also lost. SW VIII invalidates all of the greatest Star Wars' values & achievements by debasing the fundamentals of who Luke Skywalker is. Simply put, we should not have bothered to spend the previous 4 decades watching Star Wars & sharing the values in the Jedi allegories, lore & collections we all so treasure. It all means diddly now. Luke ends worse than he began.-And Yoda, evidently unimpressed that his teachings led Luke to save the galaxy years before, pops up for a few seconds to second the notion that it all has to burn. Luke’s three final accomplishments were to argue with a teenage girl as if he was still the same teenager we all met on long long ago on Tatooine, to lose belief in all that he earned through the Star Wars epics, & to die without just cause.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:18:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are so many many problems with this movie, and these problems are well vetted by other users, so no need to rehash. But there are legitimate reasons to hate this movie well beyond the blindly dismissive buzzwords like "toxic masculinity" and "stubborn fanboys". I will just give one example of how terrible this movie is. There is one scene in a casino where an alien dressed like Mr. Monopoly Pennybags (monocle and tuxedo) tries putting coins in BB-8, mistaking the droid to be a slot machine. Later in the movie, BB-8 fires these coins and kills stormtroopers. Let that sink in. I've polled 30+ friends/family/co-workers on this movie. My admittedly informal poll found that those that thought the movie to be terrible were older, male, successful, traditional values, and of higher IQ (not all mutually exclusive). Anybody that was a big fan of the original trilogy categorically loathed the movie. Those that loved the movie (I found very few) were typically children and younger adult females. If you loved the movie, I'm very happy for you. In fact, I'm jealous. But just know the way in which you are entertained is very different than the way in which I am entertained. Disney horrifically changed the tonality and subsequent audience for these films. They clearly pivoted the brand. I think I speak for many people given the negative user scores and quickly eroding gross receipts. To that point, sadly I will not be going to Solo or Episode IX on opening weekend as I typically do. I may not go at all. I'll wait for the reviews first. This movie was so bad that it made me stop caring about Star Wars

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:13:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why did they use a collection of impossibly slow bombers flying DIRECTLY AT a 'Dreadnought'? (No you can't simply blame Poe for the mission, Leia was his superior, she could've overridden him. And I'd say worst of all, they wrote Luke out of the film after a cowardly way of facing Kylo Ren, while not writing out Leia. This is THE worst Star Wars film yet made, the prequels were objectively better films than this monstrosity, and felt more like Star Wars films. Compared to this pathetic attempt at a family-friendly Star Wars.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:05:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are some great scenes in that movie. But sadly, the price for seeing them is too high. There is no consistency in the characters, the arcs or the setting. Things happen without reason. There is no payoff to anything that was promised by the first movie in the new trilogy and to my discontent, there is no narrative coherence. Also but not the worst: cringy, childish/cartoonish and partially obstrusive humor, strange choices made by the characters, hollow performances, weird romance and a pointless 30 minute detour? Why can Rei use all the jedi tricks without proper training? Purple Lady had a very late realization. Casino planet? A lot of wasted potential. I'm flabbergasted. Switching directors mid-trilogy seems to be a poor choice in hindsight. I think I just should stop caring, it's not worth it anymore.