Edmonton Movies

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Score: 6.8 / 10

Director: Joe Wright
Producer: Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Gary Oldman, Ben Mendelsohn, Lily James, John Hurt, Kristin Scott Thomas, Stephen Dillane
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Darkest Hour movie reviews

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:25:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Churchill didnít need to take the subway for inspiration. Sad how they reduced a lion to a blathering indecisive sad old man. Gary Oldman is treffic, the costumes and setting were outstanding. The writing was awful.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Sunday, January 28, 2018 9:30:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrific acting by Gary Oldman. Sets looked straight out of wartime London. Riveting movie except one slow area about 2/3 through. RAN

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Saturday, January 27, 2018 11:05:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent in all areas. This is an Academy Award Winner. Reality of human spirit. Oh, that Hollywood produced more serious films rated just as this not punctuated w profanity, but strong storyline that pulls the viewer into the screen to feel they are there with actors!!!! More movies w this rating and this depth.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, January 26, 2018 12:47:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent...a profile in courage!

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 25, 2018 10:03:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a former history teacher, I have to give it an F. As a historical fiction movie, it's at least 75% fiction. The idea that Churchill wavered and seemed to have considered a treaty with Hitler and that he jotted down the ideas for his greatest speech on a subway trip to Parliament (one which he never took) are ridiculous. Gary Oldman did a great job portraying a bumbling professor! I had to give the movie one star, because I wasn't given to option of going lower.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 25, 2018 5:26:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Except for one scene, absolutely historically correct! (So much for the fools who say otherwise. Study your history!) Superb acting and cinematography.

  • 8

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 25, 2018 12:42:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    25% of the reviews are 1 star and most of those "reviews" seem to emanate from one small-minded, obtuse individual who has a hate one for WC. Disregard his childish bias and this movie would average 4.5 stars. I consider this movie to a dramatic enactment, not a historical movie. As a drama, it is top notch and suspenseful. with Gary Oldman giving the performance of his life. I enjoyed this movie as I did Dunkirk but for different reasons. The plot is the characters, the characters are the plot.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 5:41:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The worst film I have seen in a year. We do not need more films like this. Gary Oldman was horrible and I was not impressed with the entire cast. I had to drive for over an hour to see this film since our local galaxy theatre does not seem to be showing it. What a waste of time. Few more movies like this and I will start reading more books.

  • 8

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 23, 2018 12:58:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie! My husband and I really enjoyed this movie......

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 23, 2018 6:32:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Imaginary facts being passed as history itís insulting to the audience