Edmonton Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 5

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 8:26:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lots of problems with plot and such but overall I liked it. If you are a Star Wars fan like me, go and see it. It's got lots of Star Wars fun. Luke and Leia show up and a load of bad guys attack the Rebel Alliance. Turn off your negativity and just enjoy it for a fun romp in a Galaxy... far far away. Far from perfect, but still worth seeing. 3/5

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 6:52:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I am not a DIE-HARD Star Wars fan but I have seen all the movies, played both KOTORs, read some literature etc. You can say I'm just an average fan. And maybe it was because of high expectations, fueled by rave reviews, but after the

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 6:35:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awful. Save your money. No surprise it's still rated 3 stars. Got to hurt the 5 star troll. Probably the worst ever Star Wars.

  • 10

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 2:58:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic adventure.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:28:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Luke is portrayed as a coward through the whole movie and is reluctant and never actually showed up to fight Kylo and this is weak writing. How can that become a cause by fighting via virtual reality..lol? It's better if Luke actually showed up, kicked some First Order butt and then became a sacrifice, ergo uniting everyone and doing the right thing. Man, that would have been such a powerful scene and all could be forgiven (maybe). Comedy scenes included are absurd (comedy is good to have but not this way) and take away the sense of urgency and importance of the fight too much, characters are shallow and cliche, enough plot holes to fill every hole on a golf course, and severe deus ex machina (the Force mostly) used for convenience and lazy/bad writing. Men in this movie are portrayed as idiots or macho. Women are not well represented or respected either and does them a disservice. The people who funded (Disney), wrote and directed this movie must have no morality or clue, therefore the movie had none.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:32:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Where to start? Firsly I loved Rogue One last year it felt like a story worth telling and introduced some new interesting characters. I hated the Force awakens and would rate it as my least favourite star wars movie! So i was really hoping The Last Jedi would take the Rogue One approach........It didn't!! So much potential with Luke and they just made him a grumpy old man who feels sorry for himself because his nephew turned to the dark side! Out of all people Luke should of been prepared for this potential eventuality......his dad is Darth Vader for heavens sake! So to turn him into a coward like this was unforgivable for me. Lazy writing throughout, no coherent exciting story-line, too much feminism and poor character development but ultimately it just wasn't a fun film to watch. So disappointed!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:29:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is easily the worst Star Wars film ever. Even though JJ Abrams was Executive Producer on The Last Jedi. His vison was easily lost from TFA (which I wasn't a huge fan of but he left a lot of interesting plot points, literally gave the next person (Hack Rian Jonshon) a lay up to make a really awesome film). So many plot holes to count. They ruined lukes character and didn't develop any of the new ones as well. Kylo basically gives a big F U to the crowd with his dialogue in Snokes throne room (Speaking through the hack Rian Johnson). Honestly I get moving on from the past Saga, sure, but we all know Disney will make a million movies. So just make these last 3 good (well 2 now, well 1 now that this one is horrible) and then they can do what the want with the franchise. They could have made their money and made a good film, but they didn't. Too much humor in serious scenes. I came in wondering a few questions. Who are Ray's parent? Who is Snoke? Who are the Knights of Ren? How did Maz get Luke's Lightsaber? Just to name a few. Zero answered. I went in with 0 answers or expectations. Got zero answers and lost all expectations. Also, to those that say we are all complaining that TFA was too close to a new hope and this one was too far from the OT. Well they stole most of everything from ESB and RTOJ in this movie. Oh, except the slow speed spaceship chase. No matter what I say you'll see it cause it Star Wars but I hope once you do you'll join the rebellion and try and get a film we deserve. As the wise Lando once said "This deal is getting worse all the time".

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:26:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A movie that only has Merit based on nostalgia it tries to kill. If it wants us to kill our pasts and review this without respect to what made the prginals great I will. This movie has giant plot holes and kills any intrest I have in seeing the others. It feels like the director was setting up JJ Abrams to fail in the next one leaving him a giant mess after destroying all the plot hooks he was left.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:18:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the first time I give a ZERO to a movie. I left the theater feeling angry, disappointed and ultimately, sad. A friend told me I have to go and see the film a second time to fully understand it. I think I'm not that stupid yet (though that's what people imply when they say "you did not understand it") and after he said that I thought "wait a minute, this is not how a Star Wars movie should leave its audience feeling". Then I realized how bad the plot and supposed "brilliant ideas" this so-called genius "Rian Johnson" had, were. It may be a great movie. A great independent film. A great show for the new generation but it is a bad Star Wars movie. Period. And I won't even get to the part that upset me most (my childhood hero) because I'd be spoiling it for you and I don't mean to do that. Though, if you're a fan. Stick to the 6-chapter saga and forget about Disney. If you're not, why would you even want to spend your money in Disney?

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 12:12:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I did not think Rian Johnson could screw up this badly. It is a mystery to me how he can consider himself a Star Wars fan. Perhaps what he really means is that he was a fan of Star Wars action figures, because that's what this movie feels like--a child playing with the figures, smashing them together, throwing them across the room. Having a ball of a time with them and yet, not understanding any of the characters they represent. I absolutely hated this movie, and consider it the end of Star Wars, especially for all the old fans.