Edmonton Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:08:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    When Episode VII came out I was under the impression they were setting things up to portray the old heroes as nothing but losers... I wish I could say I was prepared for what they had in mind for us this time around. No way I could have foreseen to which degree they would degrade the heroes of old (particularly Luke Skywalker) and the Skywalker bloodline in this movie. When The Last Jedi ended I thought at first that I would leave the movie theather feeling sad or even angry about it, but, in the end, I didn't. I felt indifferent. I don't care about it anymore. Nor does my girlfriend, my mother and nor does my 12 years old brother. Star Wars is over, this new Disney stuff is a joke and we the fans are the clowns.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:06:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I honestly believe a large portion of the positive reviews both on here and rotten tomatoes have been written by a team over at Disney. That many people can't be stupid enough to believe this movie actually has good character development. I really am concerned for the future of, not just Star Wars, but of entertainment in general if this is the case. There was nothing that made me feel good about this movie. The humor made me cringe and was totally out of place. There was a complete lack of any real dramatic moments. Too many inconsequential scenes and new characters. The runtime could have been cut by nearly an hour and nothing would have changed. Just way too many bad choices on the part of the writers. I am all for making something new and unpredictable. Just don't do it at the expense of your plot. I'm not even looking forward to the next one now. I don't recommend seeing this movie in the theater. Wait till it's free on TV. Disney does not deserve your money.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:05:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    So many gaping plot holes! Terribly written. I had no specific expectations other than it would be great. I was so disappointed! Boring subplots, disposable characters, desecrated 40 years of Star Wars history. Just sad what Rian Johnson was allowed to do here. The Force Awakens set up such great mysteries, but they all just fall flat. Rian Johnson has ruined Star Wars.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:01:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie will end the love of the franchise for a lot of people and will eventually put fans of the series to the test, whether or not they will go see or buy anything that has the Star Wars logo printed on it. As a fan of the movies, books, comics, etc. this film got a lot of things very wrong. Now, fans are left wondering how the force or physics in the galaxy far, far away are even supposed to work. The Last Jedi destroys the hero of the series, makes the end result of episode 7 seem pointless, and manages to really back the franchise in a corner by implying that there will be no more Jedi, which is a major drawback to the future of interest in this galaxy. At first watch I think people will be entertained by this film but not long after the show is over it is far too easy to find glaring mistakes in the plot that are infuriating to any hardcore fan.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:58:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fails on every front. The rare few frames that are good cannot make up for the 2.5hr snorefest that not only meanders like a herd of cats, but gives the legacy of Stars Wars the finger so often that it feels deliberate. It is an affront to logic & good storytelling. I want my money back.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:57:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The last star wars movie I'll see in theaters. Awful male characters, they changed how the force works, Luke felt unfamiliar as a character, and it seemed like they wanted to duplicate the feel of Battlestar Galatica by having a small band of military running from a larger, inescapable force, while slowly running out of resources. First film I've left angry.

  • 3

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:56:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The only reasons I am even giving this movie any points are because Luke was there and for the visually arresting fight and battle scenes. This movie trolled fans from beginning to end. Fans go into a movie expecting a general direction. For example, you watch Return of the King (3rd LOTR movie) expecting Frodo to finish destroying the ring. The Last Jedi is like Frodo saying forget it, forget that we all agreed to form the fellowship, nothing matters, I'm going home, the end. They seemed so obsessed with subverting audience expectations. Instead of trying to exceed audience expectations to deliver an amazing movie, they instead chose to go the opposite direction of what fans want. I'm no marketing expert, but creating a product designed to piss off your customers seems like a bad idea. And then they go blaming the customers for being haters and idiots for not liking the crap they were trying to sell.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:53:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Shockingly bad. Best could be said is that the screenplay was written to promote the sell of cheap Disney after-market merchandise. The movie itself isn't even worth reviewing. It unceremoniously ends the franchise.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:52:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson is going to desecrate Star Wars and then go on to make his own trilogy. Well guess what? The joke is going to be on him when his new trilogy comes out and so few people show up that it absolutely bombs. Last Jedi can be summed up in one scene at the very beginning of the movie: Luke tosses the lightsaber over his back. There was so much in this movie that was blatantly irreverent. I feel sorry for the director who has to try and pick up the pieces with episode 9 because, unlike episode 7, I really don't see what could happen next, nor do I really have a desire to.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:51:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yes, it's as bad as you've heard. Other reviewers have deconstructed the film and highlighted its many flaws so I won't retread the same ground. But perhaps I can add this: More than any of The Last Jedi's structural flaws - e.g., narrative and character dissonance - to me the most heartbreaking aspect of the film is its underlying cynicism, both in its worldview and its message. It tells us there is no such thing as good and evil (it's all just shades of grey) and that those who seek moral clarity are on the wrong side of history. It tells us that "hero worship" is wrong and should be avoided because our heroes (like Luke Skywalker and Han Solo before him) will inevitably fail and let us down. It tells us that the past needs to be 'killed' because it's useless, serving no purpose other than as a lesson of what not to do. It tells us that anyone can achieve greatness, not through hard work, effort and sacrifice but through rejecting one's culture, traditions, institutions, and heritage. It tells us that laying down one's life for another is wrong because that's tantamount to hate and killing who and what one loves. It tells us that we can learn absolutely nothing about our identity from our parents, even though our parents conceived, nurtured and brought us into the world. I can't think of a message more antithetical to "Star Wars" - the Star Wars George Lucas created all those years ago (post-Kennedy, post-Vietnam, post-Watergate) than that. And it just breaks my heart.